Child Passenger Restraint Law
Children up to age six (6) must ride correctly secured in a federally-approved child safety seat. (Primary law)
Children ages six (6) to age eighteen (18) must ride secured in a safety belt or child safety seat. (Secondary law)
Children up to age eighteen (18) are prohibited from riding in cargo areas. (Primary law)
If the driver holds a Provisional Operators Permit or a School Permit all passengers must ride buckled-up. (Secondary law)
Applies to all seating positions in the vehicle.
Violation carries a $25.00 fine plus court costs and 1 point is assessed against the operator’s driving record.
Child Providors must transport all children securely in an appropriate safety seat or seat belt. Violation may include revocation of child care license. (Primary law)
Occupant Protection Law
Drivers and front seat passengers are required to ride buckled-up in a safety belt or child safety seat. (Secondary law)
Violation carries a $25.00 fine plus court costs.
Definitions of Primary and Secondary Laws:
Primary Law: Any person driving in Nebraska can be stopped and ticketed solely for this violation.
Secondary Law: Drivers are cited for this violation only if stopped and ticketed for a seperate violation.
Quick Tips for Transporting Children Safely
Read and follow the manufacturer’s guidelines for your child safety seat and the vehicle owner’s manual.
No more than one finger should fit between the child’s collar bone and the harness straps.
The harness retainer clip should be located at arm pit level.
The seat should be installed tight. There should be no more than one inch of movement side-to-side at the restraint systems’ belt path.
Children should ride in a rear facing child safety seat until reaching the maximum weight for the child safety seat or the top of their head is within 1 inch from the top of the seat back.
Never place a rear-facing child safety seat in the front seat of a vehicle with a passenger side airbag.
If a forward-facing child safety seat is placed in an airbag equipped seating position, slide the vehicle seat as far back as possible, out of the airbag’s deployment path.
Older children, up to eight (8) years old and 80 pounds should ride in booster seats.
Children ages 12 and under should ride in the back seat, THE SAFEST PLACE !!
Proper installation of your child’s safety seat is important!!! To find out when the next Child Safety Seat Check-Up Event will be held in your area of Nebraska go to the Nebraska State Patrol’s website at: http://www.nsp.state.ne.us